For this task we had to recreate the sound of fire using the crinkling sound from packets of crisps. First of all we had to record ourselves crinkling the packet in front of the mic, however we needed to be at least a foot away from the mic, otherwise the sound would be too loud. I recorded to separate recordings of just a regular light crinkle and an extra recording of me using quick, fast and loud crinkles to try and recreate the popping noises in fire.

Once I had all 3 recordings, I went into Adobe Audition where I combined these recordings into one audio mix. I then exported the audio mix as an mp3 file before downloading the video of the burning fire. Once I had the video and mp3 files, I opened up Adobe Premiere Pro, I firstly put the video files into the project before unlinking the audio from the video and deleting it. Now with just the video left, I added my own audio mix to replace the real fire sounds with my own sound effect.

After adding a couple of cross dissolves on the start and finish, I exported the project in a PAL DV format and uploaded it to YouTube. The finished product is in the linked video above.